Totally Gnarly – Interview

13133101_625887054227658_809830385944785295_n

Have ya heard the musical stylings of upstate New York’s premier punk rock booze soaked madmen Totally Gnarly? Well, if you answered “no” then you need to let them fill yer eerie earholes post-fucking-haste…well, after you read my sparklin’ conversation with these gents that is!

Daniel XIII: Welcome to the Crypt o’ XIII…please, push those corpses aside and have a seat on the ol’ creepy couch! So, fill my faithful Coffin Club in on just who Totally Gnarly is and what your monstrous music is all about!

Adam: I’m Adam. I play guitar. Cool pad; I like the lava lamp!

Jason: I’m Jason, the drummist.

Glen: My name is Glen, and I enjoy screaming, yelling, and long serene walks on the beach.

Jimbo: Hi, I’m Jimbo. I try to play bass.

Jason: Wheres Tone? (Toilet flushes.)

Glen: Sounds like he is exorcising some demons.

Tony:  Here I am! My name is Tony I play guitar and sing. Totally Gnarly plays aggressive music with catchy hooks.  Our stye is heavily under the influence of beer, and years of punk rock history.

XIII: What genre flicks influenced your release TOTALLY GNARLY’S BOGUS JOURNEY?

Jimbo: I haven’t seen many romantic comedies, but I’ll watch whatever Matt Sharbungle suggests.

Tony: Any tale that has an arduous quest with ultimately the best possible outcome despite the odds. Foreign Horror, pothead movies of the 90’s, Vietnam flix, monster movies, mind-fucking thrillers.

Adam: Bogus Journey is an homage to the legendary Bill & Ted legacy. Moron-stoner, metal heads just hits a sweet spot with me.

Glen: The song ‘Falling Down‘ (Track 4) is written about the Michael Douglas movie FALLING DOWN. There is something liberating about its Anarchist overtones…a dude who’s sanity is hanging by a thread just snaps, and walks around the city with a bat and a bag of guns, righting the wrongs and standing up for the ‘every man’. No bullshit superhero masks needed; just good ole’ fashioned Vigilantism.

Adam: That’s what that song is about! I was sure it’s was another tune about drinking way too much. Who knew?

Glen: I’m sure I was drunk when I wrote the lyrics.

Jason: I’m drunk when I play it…

XIII: O.k., this ain’t Tiger Beat, let’s make with the fright flick convo! What horror films do you dudes dig?

Adam: I love the giant monster movies. Godzilla and King Kong are the perfect anti-heroes to put mankind in its place. I think the original KING KONG is one of the best movies of all time. Many of my personal heroes are the misunderstood monsters, Godzilla, Leather Face, The Frankenstein Monster. Powerful, grotesque, and tragic.

Jason: Anything b-grade…. EVIL DEAD, SUSPIRIA…modern French horror is rad as well.

Glen: I love the slap-sticky kinda stuff. Early Peter Jackson flicks like DEAD ALIVE, and BAD TASTE, Troma flicks like THE TOXIC AVENGER series, CLASS OF NUKE ‘EM HIGH, and Trey Parker and Matt Stone‘s CANNIBAL THE MUSICAL. I also really enjoy the horror movies that appealed to me as a kid like GHOULIES, CRITTERS, PUPPET MASTER, MONKEY SHINES and TREMORS. The 80’s slasher films like A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, HALLOWEEN, FRIDAY THE 13TH, and a movie called NEON MANIACS that was kinda ridiculous, but I loved it as a kid.

XIII: NEON MANIACS is one of my fav flicks, so I get where you’re comin’ from there!

Jimbo: CADDYSHACK. And I’ve also had nightmares about the NOTEBOOK.

XIII: Umm…

Tony: MARTYRS, EVIL DEAD 2, PLANET TERROR. THE THING, TOKYO GORE POLICE, FROM BEYOND, STREET TRASH, RE-ANIMATOR, BASKET CASE, BAD MILO, NEAR DARK, RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD, TCM2, DEVILS REJECTS, HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES, CABIN FEVER, DOG SOLDIERS, AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON, FROM DUSK TIL DAWN.

XIII: Ah Tony, you’re a man after my own heart! Now, If someone made a KISS MEETS THE PHANTOM OF THE PARK style flick starring Totally Gnarly what do you envision that to be like?

Jason: [laughs] Good call…still one of my favs. I love the terrible acting; it’s almost worse than KISS‘s music.

Adam: It would be just as bad as the original, only there would be a huge lawsuit at the end because Gene Simmons is a greedy dick.

Jimbo: It would be like the NOTEBOOK but with music. Kinda like a Fallout Boy concert I guess.

Glen: I don’t know much about phantoms, but I was once told that farts are just food ghosts… As for KISS, I’ve never been a fan. I’m a die-hard Bohab, so I imagine a Gnarly Movie would resemble [GWAR’s] PHALLUS IN WONDERLAND meets Weird Al Yankovic’s UHF.

Tony: KISS harbors the Phantom and Totally Gnarly takes ’em all on!!

XIII: Before we go, do ya have any putrid plugs, and where can we stalk you online?

Adam: I left all my putrid plugs at home. Glen might have some.

Glen: Do you mean butt plugs? I never leave home without one.

Jason: I have 4…butt plugs.

Glen: Do we get to meet the Crypt Keeper now? I wanna ask him why he is not gonna be in the new movie! Oh yeah, we have a couple new tracks going online that should be hitting totallygnarly.bandcamp.com and Totally Gnarly‘s Youtube channel real soon. Stop by and check them out!

Jimbo: As soon as they’re completed we’ll post a link on our Facebook page.

Tony: Thanks for having us to your beautiful home, and thanks to the Gnarlets and everyone that has supported us!

XIII: Fangs guys…now could you help me burn this damn couch?

Leave a Reply

